Which states allow the extension and/or estimates to be electronically filed in 1040 returns?

The states that allow electronic filing of extensions are:  *Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and New York City (UBT), North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, and Vermont.

*Alabama and California allow their estimated tax payments to be electronically filed. See link below for California estimated payments information.

AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, LA, MA, MD, NC, NJ, NY, NYC, PA, TN, TX and VT extensions:

  1. Click File > Export > Electronic Filing > Extension.

*Alabama Extensions:

  1. Click File > Export > Electronic Filing > Specialized State Extensions.

The states that allow electronic filing of estimates are: *AL, AR, CA, CO, DC, IL, IA, KS, KY, MD, ME, MN, NE, NJ, NY, NYC, NC, ND, OK, PA, TN FAE172, and WI.

*Alabama Estimated Tax Payments:

  1. Click File > Export > Electronic Filing > Specialized State Estimates.
  2. Select a Quarter payment.


  • Only the current and subsequent quarters are available. Previous quarters are disabled.
  • AL, AZ, CT, DC, LA, MD, MA, NJ, NY, NYC, NC, and TX extension payments must be made with electronic withdrawal.

Click here to learn How do I electronic file batch extensions for returns in CCH® ProSystem fx® Tax?.

Click here to learn How do I designate Electronic Withdrawal of California estimate payments using interview forms in Individual tax?.

  Solution Tools
 Solution Id 000037497/sw5161
 Direct Link
To provide feedback on this solution, please login.

Your feedback about this article will help us make it better. Thank you!